Thursday, April 19, 2018


Daily Verse

For because of this you also pay taxes, for [rulers] are servants of God, devoting themselves to this very thing. Render to all what is due them: tax to whom tax [is due]; custom to whom custom; fear to whom fear; honor to whom honor.  
Romans 13:6-7

Virginia Church Directory

The Lutheran Church

The Lutheran faith finds its origins in the teachings of Martin Luther during the early 16th century whose  central thesis was that repentance was to be sought by believers, as God intended, and salvation was found not by deeds, but by faith alone.  Luther began developing his views as a response to what he saw at the time as a reckless and corrupt religion, Roman Catholicism.  His 96 Theses became the foundation of the Protestant Reformation and by the year 2000, there was estimated to be more than 65 million Lutherans worldwide.  In the United States, the Lutheran Church is represented by three major branches. In order of most liberal to most conservative in its interpretation of the Scriptures, Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (ELCA), the Lutheran Church - Missouri Synod(LCMS), and the Church of the Lutheran Confession (CLC).  You may find a comprehensive listing of all churches that compose these three branches, and many more smaller Lutheran organizations and churches, as well, on Christian Local.